Monday, May 31, 2010

Bookity Book Books!

So I will admit... the new world of technology and film, television, and music entertainment have always held me in thrall, and this past year has been no exception. I've watched my fair share of TV shows (Bones, Fringe, House, Dollhouse, Weeds, Leverage, Psych, White Collar, In Plain Sight, Life Unexpected, Justified, Chuck, Cougar Town, Parenthood, Glee, Castle, Lost, Lie to Me- just to name a few!), and with my new Netflix subscription, I get plenty of movie watching in too! Plus who can resist updating statuses or finding new music for the daily car ride- it takes up a hefty chunk of time! Not to mention my more responsible duties like working, purchasing groceries, etc.

Sadly, this has left little time for one of my favorite things: books, and reading. Now, don't get me wrong- working for a book vendor means I get to do a lot with books- but for someone who loves trashy romance, sci-fi, and young adult chic lit, learning about academic titles all day doesn't really contribute to my usual joy of books.

But this weekend has changed all that. With most of my TV show season finales behind me, and a three-day weekend to indulge, I finished one book I was reading and just today read two more! *Sigh*, life is complete!

And now with the advent of my sister's and my new book club, it's almost like reading is mandatory! I feel this will be a very productive book-reading summer! :)

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

My First Farewell

So, today I had to say my first goodbye in what is sure to be a long line of them. Despite my insistence that I want to leave New Hampshire and have an adventure (and I do, don't get me wrong), I also realize that I've really found a comfortable life here. I care a lot about the people I know, the things I do, the places I go... and now I have to say goodbye to them all and start over. I won't be totally starting from scratch, but it won't be easy (especially because I'm notoriously bad at making this type of transition).

Anyway, in mid-August I'm going to have to turn my world upside-down and move away from the life that I've just started building here. It's sad and exciting at the same time, and tonight I'm feeling more sad than excited. I had my last yoga class, and I really, really adore the instructor, Kristen, and I'm honestly very upset about the fact that I won't see her anymore. Not to mention that I'll just miss the class itself, too (and Stacy, Seth, Kelli, and Sondra, my constant companions in that class). As I left class tonight, I was holding back tears... and it didn't help that Kristen was sad to see me go, as well. And of course once I got in the car, I wasn't very successful at holding the tears back.

When I leave in August, I'm going to have to say goodbye to a really big number of people... I guess that's normal when you live and work somewhere for a while. I'm thinking of all my colleagues and friends, my roomie, and my surrogate family members, and I realize that the last week of work is going to consist mainly of me running to the bathroom to sob at random moments (and quite often).

The annoying part is that it's not like I'm going THAT far away, and I'll be able to visit pretty often. It's not like I'm really saying a permanent goodbye to any of these people... but I'm sad to give up a life that has finally seemed natural and good to me. I struggled to feel comfortable for most of my life, and now that I've found a situation that suits me I have to give it up. I'm doing it for good (and inevitable) reasons, but I'm not particularly happy about it at the moment. And although the city will be a fun adventure, I sincerely doubt that this country bumpkin is going to take to it quickly or permanently. Don't worry, NH, I'll be back soon.

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

True Blood True Blood True Blood!


So I uber adore viking vamp Eric in the Sookie Stackhouse books and in the show; I admit that I've done my share of drooling and Googling to get some rockin' pictures of this man all vamped up- but, it is amazing what you come across when you dig a little deeper.

In my meanderings today, I found the below gem:

"Comic Con attendees and observant fans eagerly awaiting True Blood Season 2 Episode 7 (titled Release Me) peeped an extended teaser this weekend that appears to drop some interesting bombshells.

Fangirls and Sookie/Eric shippers (represent!) will be most intrigued by a split-second shot of a very contended Sookie in bed with what appears to be OMG our favorite viking vampire Sheriff of Area 5 (1:23). Also spotted in the teaser- vamp advocate and Bill Maher guest Nan Flanagan looking less than Today-show ready, Sookie laying her smack down on “vampire ho” Lorena, and Maryann pulling her bail yo’ ass out of jail schtick. Another disturbing snippet sees Eric writhing in pain whilst shackled to an altar in silver chains. Nooooo!

Amid the respective cries of “Beeeeel!” and “Suckeh!” it’s pretty difficult to work out any real spoilers, and we all know HBO is staffed with wizards when it comes to creating misleading and action filled trailers. It was honestly the most exciting 1:37 of my life.

Comic-Con also saw the unveiling of a new product tie-in for the show- a replica of Tru Blood that’s really a blood orange soda priced at $4 a bottle. And one last note for book fans- series creator Alan Ball put the kibosh on any hopes of seeing the undead man from Memphis on the small screen. Ball feels it would be impossible to suspend disbelief enough on TV to have beloved Bubba be a viable character on the show adaptation. Burn.

While topping episode 6 (Hard Hearted Hannah, as crooned by Guillame) will be pretty hard, episode 7 looks like it’s going to be pretty fierce, too."


My favorite part of this little description- the imitation of how they say Bill and Sookie (my favorite thing to make fun of on this show). It doesn't get much better. Also sad that there's no Bubba! He kind of rocks the book page. Plus, I kinda wanna try a bottle of Tru Blood... and my spellcheck just missed that "kinda" and "wanna" are not actually words. Oh, the fall of grammar! I saw someone spell it "grammer" today who was talking about spelling mistakes on a Chinese takeout menu... but I ramble.